無纖維脫落

無纖維脫落

Natracare無纖維脫落的問題

因為我們的衛生棉條,包括拉繩,都是由百分百的有機棉製成,有機棉的纖維結構為波狀,纖維互鎖,故無纖維脫落。

基於衛生棉條使用者和醫護人員的憂慮,Natracare在1990年代已開始積極關注纖維脫落的問題。

許多進行塗片檢查的護士反映,為了獲得清晰的塗片樣本,必須從子宮頸周圍移除脫落的棉條纖維。

什麼是無纖維脫落?

在家中進行浸漬測試。

纖維脫落是指細小纖維從衛生棉條上掉落的問題。妳可以透過浸漬測試查看效果。將普通衛生棉和Natracare衛生棉條一併浸入一杯水中,然後稍等片刻。

幾分鐘後,妳會發現很多品牌的衛生棉條會有細小的纖維從棉條上掉落。這是因為大多數衛生棉條都是用人造絲或棉/人造絲混合物製成的。人造絲纖維短而直,因此纖維之間很容易鬆開。

人造絲製成的衛生棉條在使用過程中會掉入陰道。掉落在陰道中的纖維除了衛生問題外,細菌定植也可能會導致陰道感染。衛生棉條所含的人造絲亦與毒性休克綜合症有關。

用塑膠包裝的棉條

以另外一個問題解決問題

起初否認纖維脫落問題的製造商迅速地使用人造纖維包裝物料包裹衛生棉條,以防止纖維從內部的吸水核芯脫落。

加熱塑膠以熔化包裝物料,密封衛生棉條內部的吸水核芯。這樣可以減少纖維脫落,但不會解決問題。最重要的是,這樣增加了使用不必要的一次性塑膠。聚丙烯是一種石油產品,這意味著傳統的衛生棉條不能被生物降解。

也就是說一般棉條是採用塑膠、人造絲及基因改造棉花製成的。

No Fibre Loss

No Fibre Loss

Natracare tampons do not have an issue with fibre loss

Our tampons, including the string, are made from only 100% organic cotton, a wavy-construction fibre that easily interlocks.

Natracare championed the issue of fibre loss back in the 1990’s as a result of concerns raised both by users of tampons and nurses.

Nurses conducting smear tests reported having to remove shed tampon fibres from around the cervix before being able to obtain a clear smear sample.

What is fibre loss?

Try the dip test at home.

Fibre loss is the issue small fibres falling away from the tampon. You can use the dip test as a method to see this in action. Take your average store tampon and dip it in a glass of water, preferably alongside a natracare tampon. Then wait a short while.

With many brands of tampon you will notice small fibres falling away from the tampon after just a few minutes. This is because most tampons are made with rayon or a cotton/rayon mix. The structure of Rayon fibres are short and straight, so they easily slide apart from each other.

Tampons made with rayon can shed in the vagina during use. Apart from the hygienic concerns of fibres remaining in the vagina, there are also implications for bacterial colonisation which can contribute to vaginal infections. Rayon in tampons has also been linked with Toxic Shock Syndrome.

Tampons wrapped in plastic

Solving a problem with another problem

Manufacturers, who at first denied the fibre loss issue, quickly placed a veil over tampons. An over-wrap material made from plastic is wrapped around tampons to prevent fibre loss.

Plastic is heated to melt the overwrap and form a seal over the tampon core. This reduces some of the fibre loss but does not eradicate it. Additionally it creates an unnecessary form of single-use plastic. Polypropylene is made from crude oil meaning conventional tampons do not biodegrade.

This means today, the average tampon is made with plastic, rayon and GM cotton.

Take action

Use your voice to take action against unwanted materials in personal care and period products: